Strengthen the science location Switzerland

To strengthen the science location Switzerland, the Swiss Academies of Arts and Sciences perform as a science policy actor in European Academy organisations. Paramount is the configuration of the European Research Area, which is of great relevance for science in Switzerland. Outside Europe, the Academies cooperate with other national actors.
 

Engagement in Europe

 
European Federation of Academies of sciences and Humanities (ALLEA): ALLEA's activities aim at shaping the conditions for science and research, providing the best science advice available for citizens and policymakers, and strengthening the role of science in society. The Swiss Academies of Arts and Sciences have been engaged in ALLEA for several years, since 2018 with Antonio Loprieno as the ALLEA President. Through their contributions to ALLEA Working Groups, they were in the lead regarding the statement on the «Communication of the EU Commission on the European Research Area» (2012) as well as contributed to the «European Code of Conduct for Research Integrity» (2017) and the report «Going digital: creating change in the humanities» (2015).
 
European Commission: The Swiss Academies of Arts and Sciences, in cooperation with the State Secretariat for Education, Research and Innovation (SERI), ensure the presence of the Swiss science community in science policy bodies of the European Commission, inter alia in all European Strategy Forum on Research Infrastructures (ESFRI) working groups.
 

Cooperation with national actors

Diplomatic staff meeting: In 2013 and 2016, the Swiss Academies of Arts and Sciences, jointly with the State Secretariat for Education, Research and Innovation (SERI), the Swiss National Science Foundation (SNSF) and Innosuisse, organised a meeting of the diplomatic staff in charge of science and technology accredited in Switzerland with their Swiss counterparts seconded abroad.
 
SERI: OECD Global Science Forum: As a venue for consultation on global science policy issues among senior officials, the Global Science Forum supports the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) in the formulation of policies to improve global economic and social well-being. Through a delegate, the Swiss Academies of Arts and Sciences are represented in the Swiss delegation that the SERI leads to the OECD Global Science Forum.
 
swissnex Network
The Swiss Academies of Arts and Sciences cooperate point by point with the swissnex Network in more than 20 locations world-wide.
 

Members of the Swiss Academies of Arts and Sciences

Centres of Excellence

Swiss Academies of Arts and Sciences
House of Academies
Laupenstrasse 7
P.O. Box
3001 Bern
Switzerland

Phone +41 (0)31 306 92 20
info@swiss-academies.ch

Renforcement de la place scientifique suisse

Pour renforcer la place scientifique suisse, les Académies suisses des sciences sont actrices de la scène politique scientifique. Ceci concerne en premier lieu la structure de l’espace européen de recherche qui revêt une grande importance pour la science en Suisse. Dans le contexte extra-européen, les académies coopèrent avec d'autres acteurs nationaux.
 

Engagement en Europe

 
European Federation of Academies of Sciences and Humanities (ALLEA): ALLEA vise à améliorer les conditions de la recherche, à fournir les meilleurs conseils scientifiques indépendants et interdisciplinaires et à renforcer le rôle de la science dans la société. Les Académies suisses des sciences s'engagent au sein de l'ALLEA depuis des annèes, depuis 2018 avec Antonio Loprieno en tant que président de l'ALLEA. Elles étaient responsables de la rédaction de la déclaration de l'ALLEA concernant la «Communication de la Commission européenne à propos de l'espace de recherche européenne» (2012) elles et contribuaient au «Code de conduite européen pour l’intégrité en recherche» (2017) ainsi qu'au rapport de l'ALLEA  Going digital: creating change in the humanities» (2015).
 
European Strategy Forum on Research Infrastructures (ESFR): Les Académies suisses des sciences, en coopération avec le Secrétariat d'État à la formation, à la recherche et à l'innovation (SEFRI), assurent la présence de la communauté scientifique suisse au sein des instances de politique scientifique de la Commission européenne, entre outre dans tous les groupes de travail ESFRI.
 

Engagement au niveau global

 
Réseau swissnex: Les Académies suisses des sciences coopèrent avec le réseau swissnex dans plus de 20 sites autour du monde. En 2013 et 2016, elles organisaient avec le Secrétariat d'État à la formation, à la recherche et à l'innovation (SEFRI), le Fonds national suisse (FNS) et Innosuisse une rencontre du personnel diplomatique responsable des affaires scientifiques et technologiques accrédité en Suisse avec leurs homologues suisses stationnés à l'étranger.
 
Global Science Forum de l'OCDE: Le Global Science Forum joue un rôle de consultation entre hauts représentants du monde académique et soutient l'Organisation de Coopération et de Développement Économiques (OCDE) dans l'élaboration de recommandations visant à améliorer le bien-être économique et social global. Les Académies suisses des sciences sont représenté par un délégué dans la délégation suisse menée par le SEFRI au sein du GSF. Sous la direction des Académies suisses, le 

rapport GSF "Strengthening the effectiveness and sustainability of international research infrastructures" (2017) 

a été rédigé.
 

Membres des Académies suisses des sciences

Centres de compétences :

Académies suisses des sciences
Maison des Académies
Laupenstrasse 7
Case postale
CH-3001 Berne

Tél +41 (0)31 306 92 20
info@akademien-schweiz.ch